1998 Session

Budget Bill - SB29 (Introduced)

Department of Social Services

Item 389

Item 389 (Not set out)

First Year - FY1997Second Year - FY1998
Continuing Income Assistance Services (46100)$17,173,520$17,173,520
Confederate Women's Income Assistance (46101)FY1997 $29,000FY1998 $29,000
Supplemental Income Assistance to the Aged, Blind, and Disabled (46103)FY1997 $17,144,520FY1998 $17,144,520
Fund Sources:  
GeneralFY1997 $17,173,520FY1998 $17,173,520

Authority: Title 51.2, Chapter 1.1 and Title 63.1, Chapters 1 and 6, Code of Virginia.

A. Out of the amounts for Confederate Women's Income Assistance, there shall be paid to each needy maiden or widowed daughter of a Confederate soldier, sailor or marine, who is a resident of Virginia, the sum of $360 each year. The beneficiaries under this provision shall be ascertained and determined by the relief committee of the Virginia Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy based on income eligibility criteria established by the State Board of Social Services. The eligibility criteria shall be reviewed and adjusted as appropriate. The Relief Committee shall certify to the Commissioner, Department of Social Services, on blanks to be furnished by him, the need of each such beneficiary, said certificates to be approved by the President of the Virginia Division of the United Daughters of the Confederacy.

B.1. The Department of Social Services is authorized to base approved licensed Adult Care Residences rates for individual homes on an occupancy rate of 85 percent of licensed capacity, not to exceed a maximum rate of $695 per month the first year and $725 per month the second year. Licensed Adult Care Residences in Planning District Eight may add a 15 percent differential to the maximum amount in both years.

2. The Department of Social Services is authorized to increase the Adult Care Residence rate cited above on January 1 of each year in which the federal government increases Supplemental Security Income or Social Security rates or at any other time that the Department determines that a rate increase is necessary to ensure that the Commonwealth continues to meet federal requirements for continuing eligibility for federal financial participation in the Medicaid program. Any such rate increase is subject to the prior concurrence of the Department of Planning and Budget. Within thirty days after its effective date, any such rate increase shall be reported to the Governor and the Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees with an explanation of the reasons for the rate increase.

C. The monthly personal needs allowance for auxiliary grant recipients who reside in licensed homes for adults or adult family care homes shall be $40 per month the first year and $40 per month the second year.

D. Pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the State Board and to the extent allowed by federal statute or regulations, there may be exempted from consideration in determining the amount of such assistance any person may receive, monetary or other gifts, not to exceed in value the sum of $65 per month, received from another person by an applicant for or recipient of an auxiliary grant.