1998 Session

Budget Bill - HB30 (Chapter 464)

Department of Health

Item 328

Item 328

First Year - FY1999Second Year - FY2000
Environmental Resources Management (51200)$32,379,314$34,812,070
Sewage and Wastewater Regulation (51205)FY1999 $421,191FY2000 $431,168
Water Supply Engineering (51207)FY1999 $31,958,123FY2000 $34,380,902
Fund Sources:  
GeneralFY1999 $7,681,579FY2000 $10,089,194
SpecialFY1999 $2,297,649FY2000 $2,313,382
Federal TrustFY1999 $22,400,086FY2000 $22,409,494

Authority: §§ 32.1-163 through 32.1-176.7; 32.1-246; 32.1-246.1; and 62.1-44.18 through 62.1-44.19:1, Code of Virginia; and P.L. 95-217, P.L. 93-523 and P.L. 92-500, Federal Code.

A. It is the intent of the General Assembly that the Virginia Department of Health be the agency designated to receive and manage general and nongeneral funds appropriated pursuant to the federal Safe Drinking Water Act of 1996. Any funds unexpended as of June 30, 1998, shall be brought forward and reappropriated. Any funds unexpended as of June 30, 1999, and June 30, 2000, shall be reappropriated for the same use in the succeeding year.

B. It is the intent of the General Assembly that the fee schedule for charges to community waterworks be reduced to the level necessary to cover the cost of operating the Waterworks Technical Assistance Program, consistent with § 32.1-171.1, Code of Virginia.

C. Out of this appropriation, $2,000,000 the first year and $2,000,000 the second year shall be provided in the form of a loan to the Coalfield Water Development Fund, Inc. The funds shall be used to assist in the financing of new drinking water facilities in the following rural communities in southwestern Virginia, where no such facilities existed on the date of enactment of the Safe Drinking Water Amendments of 1996, and where such communities are experiencing economic hardship: the Counties of Lee, Wise, Scott, Dickenson, Russell, Buchanan, Tazewell, and the City of Norton. The terms and conditions of repayment, including interest rates, shall be agreed upon by the Board of Directors of the Coalfield Water Development Fund, Inc., and the Department of Health.