Menu
2016 Session

Budget Bill - SB30 (Introduced)

View Item amendments

Department of Health

Item 295

Item 295

First Year - FY2017Second Year - FY2018
Community Health Services (44000)$255,828,388$258,828,388
Local Dental Services (44002)FY2017 $4,676,787FY2018 $4,676,787
Restaurant and Food Safety, Well and Septic Permitting and Other Environmental Health Services (44004)FY2017 $37,227,550FY2018 $37,227,550
Local Family Planning Services (44005)FY2017 $29,672,443FY2018 $32,672,443
Support for Local Management, Business, and Facilities (44009)FY2017 $62,967,015FY2018 $62,967,015
Local Maternal and Child Health Services (44010)FY2017 $43,702,355FY2018 $43,702,355
Local Immunization Services (44013)FY2017 $13,967,693FY2018 $13,967,693
Local Communicable Disease Investigation, Treatment, and Control (44014)FY2017 $19,294,860FY2018 $19,294,860
Local Personal Care Services (44015)FY2017 $4,365,001FY2018 $4,365,001
Local Chronic Disease and Prevention Control (44016)FY2017 $11,706,618FY2018 $11,706,618
Local Nutrition Services (44018)FY2017 $28,248,066FY2018 $28,248,066
Fund Sources: 
GeneralFY2017 $99,535,119FY2018 $99,535,119
SpecialFY2017 $106,425,406FY2018 $106,425,406
Dedicated Special RevenueFY2017 $3,508,809FY2018 $3,508,809
Federal TrustFY2017 $46,359,054FY2018 $49,359,054

Authority: §§ 32.1-11 through 32.1-12, 32.1-31, 32.1-163 through 32.1-176, 32.1-198 through 32.1-211, 32.1-246, and 35.1-1 through 35.1-26, Code of Virginia; Title V of the U.S. Social Security Act; and Title X of the U.S. Public Health Service Act.


A.1. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than $425.00, for a construction permit for on-site sewage systems designed for less than 1,000 gallons per day, and alternative discharging systems not supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.


2. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than $350.00, for the certification letter for less than 1,000 gallons per day not supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.


3. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than $225.00, for a construction permit for an onsite sewage system designed for less than 1,000 gallons per day when the application is supported with certified work from a licensed onsite soil evaluator.


4. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than $320.00, for the certification letter for less than 1,000 gallons per day supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.


5. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than $300.00, for a construction permit for a private well.


6. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than $1,400.00, for a construction permit or certification letter designed for more than 1,000 gallons per day.


7. The State Health Commissioner shall appoint two manufacturers to the Advisory Committee on Sewage Handling and Disposal, representing one system installer and the Association of Onsite Soil Engineers.


B. The State Health Commissioner is authorized to develop, in consultation with the regulated entities, a hotel, campground, and summer camp plan and specification review fee, not to exceed $40.00, a restaurant plan and specification review fee, not to exceed $40.00, an annual hotel, campground, and summer camp permit renewal fee, not to exceed $40.00, and an annual restaurant permit renewal fee, not to exceed $40.00 to be collected from all establishments, except K-12 public schools, that are subject to inspection by the Department of Health pursuant to §§ 35.1-13, 35.1-14, 35.1-16, and 35.1-17, Code of Virginia. However, any such establishment that is subject to any health permit fee, application fee, inspection fee, risk assessment fee or similar fee imposed by any locality as of January 1, 2002, shall be subject to this annual permit renewal fee only to the extent that the Department of Health fee and the locally imposed fee, when combined, do not exceed the fee amount listed in this paragraph. This fee structure shall be subject to the approval of the Secretary of Health and Human Resources.


C. Pursuant to the Department of Health's Policy Implementation Manual (#07-01), individuals who participate in a local festival, fair, or other community event where food is sold, shall be exempt from the annual temporary food establishment permit fee of $40.00 provided the event is held only one time each calendar year and the event takes place within the locality where the individual resides.


D. The State Health Commissioner shall work with public and private dental providers to develop options for delivering dental services in underserved areas, including the use of public-private partnerships in the development and staffing of facilities, the use of dental hygiene and dental students to expand services and enhance learning experiences, and the availability of reimbursement mechanisms and other public and private resources to expand services.


E. The Department of Health shall continue to implement a sustainable preventive model to begin July 1, 2014, except in the Mount Rogers, Western Tidewater, and Norfolk Health districts, and full transition by January 1, 2016. The model shall ensure that (i) trained personnel are in place; (ii) the focus on those areas of the Commonwealth in the most need of these dental services, including those areas with higher risk factors including a concentration of diabetic and free lunch populations and a higher than average Medicaid-eligible population; and (iii) the development of evaluation metrics to assist in ensuring efficient and effective use of funding and services.


F. Out of this appropriation, $387,744 the first year and $387,744 the second year from the general fund and $267,602 the first year and $267,602 the second year from nongeneral funds is provided to address the cost of leasing or expanding local health department facilities.


G. Out of this appropriation, $3,000,000 the first year and $6,000,000 the second year from the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) block grant and one position shall be provided for the purpose of developing a pilot program to increase education about reproductive choices available to women throughout the Commonwealth and to expand access to long acting reversible contraception (LARC). A report shall be submitted to the Governor, Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees, Secretary of Health and Human Resources, and Director, Department of Planning and Budget that details program results and actual program expenditures no later than October 1 of each year for the preceding fiscal year ending June 30.