2003 Session

Budget Bill - HB1400 (Chapter 1042)

Auditor of Public Accounts

Item 2

Item 2

First Year - FY2003Second Year - FY2004
Legislative Evaluation and Review (78300)$9,665,559$9,671,297
Financial and Compliance Audits (78301)FY2003 $9,665,559FY2004 $9,671,297
Fund Sources:  
GeneralFY2003 $8,956,601FY2004 $8,962,339
SpecialFY2003 $708,958FY2004 $708,958

Authority: Article IV, Section 18, Constitution of Virginia; Title 30, Chapter 14, Code of Virginia.

A. Out of the amounts for Financial and Compliance Audits shall be paid the annual salary of the Auditor of Public Accounts, $134,462 from July 1, 2002, to November 24, 2002, $134,462 from November 25, 2002, to November 24, 2003, and $134,462 $137,487 from November 25, 2003, to June 30, 2004.

B. The Auditor of Public Accounts shall, with the assistance of the Secretary of Transportation, the Department of Motor Vehicles, and other appropriate agencies, develop a cost accounting system which will accurately and completely document the true total costs, both direct and indirect, of the activities and services provided by the Department of Motor Vehicles. The system shall provide for full allocation of all incurred costs including the administrative and operating costs of the central office and customer services centers. The system shall compare the true costs of the Department’s services to the fees, penalties and other sources of revenue available to the Department. The activities to be assessed include but are not limited to driver services (e.g., driver’s licenses, learner’s licenses, identification cards, revocation/suspension, reinstatements, information maintenance and distribution), vehicle services, motor carrier services, transportation safety services, dealer services, financial assistance to localities, and support services. The Auditor shall submit his findings and any recommendations by January 5, 2004, to the Governor and the Secretary of Transportation and to the Chairmen of the House Committees on Transportation and Appropriations and to the Chairmen of the Senate Committees on Transportation and Finance.