Menu
2010 Session

Budget Bill - SB30 (Introduced)

View Item amendments

Department of Health

Item 287

Item 287

First Year - FY2011Second Year - FY2012
Community Health Services (44000)$236,688,089$236,387,600
Local Dental Services (44002)FY2011 $8,558,117FY2012 $8,558,117
Restaurant and Food Safety, Well and Septic Permitting and other Environmental Health Services (44004)FY2011 $38,546,716FY2012 $38,546,716
Local Family Planning Services (44005)FY2011 $19,385,999FY2012 $19,385,999
Support for Local Management, Business, and Facilities (44009)FY2011 $48,128,720FY2012 $48,128,720
Local Maternal and Child Health Services (44010)FY2011 $48,891,259FY2012 $48,891,259
Local Immunization Services (44013)FY2011 $10,930,398FY2012 $10,930,398
Local Communicable Disease Investigation, Treatment, and Control (44014)FY2011 $18,189,263FY2012 $18,189,263
Local Home Health and Personal Care Services (44015)FY2011 $5,532,016FY2012 $5,532,016
Local Chronic Disease and Prevention Control (44016)FY2011 $12,676,294FY2012 $12,676,294
Local Laboratory and Pharmacy Services (44017)FY2011 $8,364,281FY2012 $8,063,792
Local Nutrition Services (44018)FY2011 $17,485,026FY2012 $17,485,026
Fund Sources: 
GeneralFY2011 $91,968,548FY2012 $91,797,328
SpecialFY2011 $107,007,716FY2012 $106,878,447
Dedicated Special RevenueFY2011 $1,595,974FY2012 $1,595,974
Federal TrustFY2011 $36,115,851FY2012 $36,115,851

Authority: §§ 32.1-11 through 32.1-12, 32.1-31, 32.1-163 through 32.1-176, 32.1-198 through 32.1-211, 32.1-246, and 35.1-1 through 35.1-26, Code of Virginia; Title V of the U.S. Social Security Act; and Title X of the U.S. Public Health Service Act.


A. 1. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of Health shall charge a fee of no more than $425.00, for a construction permit for on-site sewage systems designed for less than 1,000 gallons per day, and alternative discharging systems not supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.


2. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of the Health shall charge a fee of more than $350.00, for a certification letter less than 1,000 gallons per day not supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.


3. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of the Health shall charge a fee of no more than $225.00, for a construction permit.


4. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of the Health shall charge a fee of no more than $320.00, for the certification letter for less than 1,000 gallons per day supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.


5. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through §3 2.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of Health shall charge a fee of no more than $300.00, for a construction permit for a private well.


6. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the Commissioner of Health shall charge a fee of no more than $1,400.00, for a construction permit or certification letter designed for more than 1,000 gallons per day.


7. The Commissioner of Health shall appoint two manufacturers to the Advisory Committee on Sewage Handling and Disposal, representing one system installer and the Association of Onsite Soil Engineers.


B. The Commissioner of Health is authorized to develop, in consultation with the regulated entities, a plan and specification review fee, not to exceed $95.00, and an annual permit renewal fee, each not to exceed $285.00 per year, to be collected from all establishments, except K-12 public schools, that are subject to inspection by the Department of Health pursuant to §§ 35.1-13, 35.1-14, 35.1-16, and 35.1-17, Code of Virginia; however, any such establishment that is subject to any health permit fee, application fee, inspection fee, risk assessment fee or similar fee imposed by any locality as of January 1, 2008, shall be subject to this annual permit renewal fee only to the extent that the Department of Health fee and the locally imposed fee, when combined, do not exceed $285.00. This fee structure shall be subject to the approval of the Secretary of Health and Human Resources.


C. Pursuant to the Department of Health's Policy Implementation Manual (#07-01), individuals who participate in a local festival, fair, or other community event where food is sold, shall be exempt from the annual temporary food establishment permit fee of $100.00 provided the event is held only one time each calendar year and the event takes place within the locality where the individual resides.


D. Out of this appropriation, $504,205 the first year and $504,205 the second year from the general fund and $362,947 the first year and $362,947 the second year from nongeneral funds is provided to address the cost of leasing new or expanding existing local health department facilities.  First priority shall be given to Prince William, Isle of Wight, Suffolk, and Roanoke City.