VIRGINIA STATE BUDGET

2021 Special Session |
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Department of Health

Item 302

First Year - FY2021

Second Year - FY2022

Community Health Services (44000)

Local Dental Services (44002)

Restaurant and Food Safety, Well and Septic Permitting and Other
Environmental Health Services (44004)

Local Family Planning Services (44005)

Support for Local Management, Business, and Facilities (44009)

Local Maternal and Child Health Services (44010)

Local Immunization Services (44013)

Local Communicable Disease Investigation, Treatment, and Control
(44014)

Local Personal Care Services (44015)

Local Chronic Disease and Prevention Control (44016)

Local Nutrition Services (44018)

Population Health (44019)
Fund Sources:

General

Special
Dedicated Special Revenue

Federal Trust

$280,704;:516  $280;990;684

$280,625,627
$3,907,226

$41,746,457
$31,778,639
$73.197 225
$73,121,436

$39,003,423

$18,720,510

$23,710,463

$4,648,293
$11,533,995
$30,547,825

$1,907,360

$109;681:815
$109,605,926

$116,800,971

$3,636,482

$50,582,248

$292,637,694
$3,907,226
$41;746;457
$41,346,457

$347785639
$31,728,639

$73:197325
$74,604,236

$39.292 591
$47,628,423

$18,720,510
$23.710.463
$26,914,730

$4:648,29%
$4,548,293

$11.533.995
$11,283,995

$36,547;:825
$29,897,825

$1;907360
$2,057,360

$109,970.933
$123,981,513

$116,800,971
$114,787,451

$3,636,482

$50.582,248
$50,232,248

Authority: 8§ 32.1-11 through 32.1-12, 32.1-31, 32.1-163 through 32.1-176, 32.1-198 through 32.1-211, 32.1-246,
and 35.1-1 through 35.1-26, Code of Virginia; Title V of the U.S. Social Security Act; and Title X of the U.S. Public

Health Service Act.

A.1. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge
a fee of no more than $425.00, for a construction permit for on-site sewage systems designed for less than 1,000
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gallons per day, and alternative discharging systems not supported with certified work from an onsite soil
evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an onsite soil evaluator.

2. Notwithstanding & 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a
fee of no more than $350.00, for the certification letter for less than 1,000 gallons per day not supported with
certified work from an onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an onsite soil
evaluator.

3. Notwithstanding & 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a
fee of no more than $225.00, for a construction permit for an onsite sewage system designed for less than 1,000
gallons per day when the application is supported with certified work from a licensed onsite soil evaluator.

4. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through & 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a
fee of no more than $320.00, for the certification letter for less than 1,000 gallons per day supported with certified
work from an onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an onsite soil evaluator.

5. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a
fee of no more than $300.00, for a construction permit for a private well.

6. Notwithstanding & 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a
fee of no more than $1,400.00, for a construction permit or certification letter designed for more than 1,000 gallons
per day.

7. Notwithstanding & 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, and starting July 1, 2019, the State Health
Commissioner shall charge a fee of $425.00, for a permit to repair an onsite sewage system or an alternative
discharging system designed for less than 1,000 gallons per day not supported with certified work from an onsite
soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an onsite soil evaluator. This fee shall be
waived for persons with income below 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines as established by the United
States Department of Health and Human Services when the application is for a pit privy or for a repair of a failing
onsite or alternative discharging sewage system.

8. Notwithstanding & 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, and starting July 1, 2019, the State Health
Commissioner shall charge a fee of $225.00, for a permit to repair or voluntarily upgrade an onsite sewage system
or alternative discharging system designed for less than 1,000 gallons per day supported with certified work from
an onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer. This fee shall be waived for persons with income below 200
percent of the federal poverty guidelines as established by the United States Department of Health and Human
Services when the application is for a pit privy or for a repair of a failing onsite or alternative discharging sewage
system.

9. Notwithstanding & 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, and starting July 1, 2019, the State Health
Commissioner shall charge a fee of $150.00, to provide written authorizations pursuant to § 32.1-165 not
supported with certified work from a qualified professional.

10. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, and starting July 1, 2019, the State Health
Commissioner shall charge a fee of $100.00, to provide written authorizations pursuant to § 32.1-165 supported
with certified work from a qualified professional.

11. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, and starting July 1, 2019, the State Health
Commissioner shall charge a fee of $1,400.00, for a permit to repair or voluntarily upgrade an onsite sewage system

designed for more than 1,000 gallons per day.

12.A. The State Health Commissioner shall appoint two manufacturers to the Advisory Committee on Sewage
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Handling and Disposal, representing one system installer and the Association of Onsite Soil Engineers.

B. The State Health Commissioner is authorized to develop, in consultation with the regulated entities, a hotel,
campground, and summer camp plan and specification review fee, not to exceed $40.00, a restaurant plan and
specification review fee, not to exceed $40.00, an annual hotel, campground, and summer camp permit renewal
fee, not to exceed $40.00, and an annual restaurant permit renewal fee, not to exceed $40.00 to be collected from
all establishments, except K-12 public schools, that are subject to inspection by the Department of Health pursuant
to 8§ 35.1-13, 35.1-14, 35.1-16, and 35.1-17, Code of Virginia. However, any such establishment that is subject to
any health permit fee, application fee, inspection fee, risk assessment fee or similar fee imposed by any locality as
of January 1, 2002, shall be subject to this annual permit renewal fee only to the extent that the Department of
Health fee and the locally imposed fee, when combined, do not exceed the fee amount listed in this paragraph. This
fee structure shall be subject to the approval of the Secretary of Health and Human Resources.

C. Pursuant to the Department of Health's Policy Implementation Manual (#07-01), individuals who participate in
a local festival, fair, or other community event where food is sold, shall be exempt from the annual temporary food
establishment permit fee of $40.00 provided the event is held only one time each calendar year and the event takes
place within the locality where the individual resides.

D. The State Health Commissioner shall work with public and private dental providers to develop options for
delivering dental services in underserved areas, including the use of public-private partnerships in the
development and staffing of facilities, the use of dental hygiene and dental students to expand services and
enhance learning experiences, and the availability of reimbursement mechanisms and other public and private
resources to expand services.

E. Out of this appropriation, $417,822 the first year and $417,822 the second year from the Temporary Assistance
for Needy Families (TANF) block grant shall be used to support program expenses for the Healthy Families
program.

F.1. Out of this appropriation, $2,000,000 the first year and $2;600,600$3,000,000 the second year from the
Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) block grant shall be provided for the purpose of expanding access
to long acting reversible contraceptives (LARC). The Virginia Department of Health shall establish and manage
memorandums of understanding with qualified health care providers who will provide access to LARCs to patients
whose income is below 250 percent of the federal poverty level, the Title X family planning program income
eligibility requirement. Providers shall be reimbursed for the insertion and removal of LARCs at Medicaid rates. As
part of the pilot program, the department, in cooperation with the Department of Medical Assistance Services and
stakeholders, shall develop a plan to improve awareness and utilization of the Plan First program and include
outreach efforts to refer women who have a diagnosis of substance use disorder and who seek family planning
services to the Plan First program or participating providers in the pilot program.

2. The Virginia Department of Health shall report on metrics to measure the effectiveness of the program such as
impacts on morbidity, reduction in abortions and unplanned pregnancies, and impacts on maternal health such as
an increase in the length of time between births, among others. In addition, the department shall collect data on
the number of women served who also sought treatment for substance use disorder. The department shall submit a
report to the Governor, the Chairs of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance and Appropriations
Committees, the Secretary of Health and Human Resources, and the Director, Department of Planning and Budget,
that describes the program, and metrics used to measure results, actual program expenditures, and projected
expenditures by September 1 of each year.

3. Out of this appropriation, $1,000,000 the first year and $1,000,000 the second year from the Temporary
Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) block grant shall be made available to supplement the funding provided
under paragraph 1. of this Item to expand access to FDA-approved contraceptives, that are not long acting
reversible contraceptives. The Virginia Department of Health shall establish and manage memoranda of
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understanding with qualified health care providers who have existing contracts pursuant to paragraph 1. of this
Item or to new ones if funding is available. Providers shall be reimbursed for the cost of the contraceptives, as
provided under this paragraph, at Medicaid rates.

4. The appropriation as described under paragraphs F.1. and F.3. of this Item shall be used to expand access to both
LARC and non-LARC contraceptives and the Virginia Department of Health is authorized to use funds in either
paragraph to supplement the funds in the other paragraph for the purposes described.

G: Out of this appropriation; $289,168 the seeond year from the general fund shall be used to suppert four
restricted positions as part of a two—year pilot program in four local health distriets to inerease their capacity to
improve health outcomes: The department shall evaluate the pilot program and make an interim report to the

H. Out of this appropriation, an amount not to exceed $10,200,000 in the second year from the general fund, is
provided to address revisions to the JLARC rate formula for the Cooperative Health Budget. A portion of this
funding shall be used to hold harmless those localities that would otherwise experience a decrease in general fund
support as a result of these revisions. It shall not be assumed that additional general fund support will be available
for similar hold harmless provisions in future rate adjustments beyond this initial action. The Virginia Department
of Health shall conduct an analysis of match rates for potential cost estimates and shall issue a report to the
Governor every two years.
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