VIRGINIA STATE BUDGET

2021 Special Session |

Budget Bill - HB1800 (Reenrolled)

Bill Order » Office of Health and Human Resources » Iltem 295
Department of Health

ltem 295 First Year - FY2021 Second Year - FY2022
Higher Education Student Financial Assistance (10800) $2;985;000 $2;985,000
$885,000 $3,120,000
Scholarships (10810) $2;985;000 $2;985;000
$885,000 $3,120,000

Fund Sources:
General $2;466,000 $2;400;000
$300,000 $2,435,000
Dedicated Special Revenue $85,000 $85,000
Federal Trust $500,000 $500.000
$600,000

Authority: 8§ 23.1-614 and 32.1-122.5:1 through 32.1-122.10, Code of Virginia.

A. This appropriation shall only be used for the provision of loans or scholarships in accordance with regulations
promulgated by the Board of Health, or for the administration, management, and reporting thereof. The
department may move appropriation between scholarship or loan repayment programs as long as the scholarship
or loan repayment is in accordance with the regulations promulgated by the Board of Health.

B- The Virginia Department of Health shall eollaborate with the Virginia Health Gare Foundation and the
stakeholders en a plan to inerease the npumber of Virginia behavioral health practitioners; including Heensed
health safety net erganizations through the use of a student loan repayment program- The program design shall
health and safety net organizations and state mental health faeilities: The program design shall include a
preferenee for applicants whe ehoose employment in underserved areas ef the Commenwealth and eentain
eonditions for recipients to practice in these areas for at least two years: The program shall be implemented by the
funds from ether seurees in order to maximize the total funding for such a program- The plan shall determine hew
C.1. The Virginia Department of Health shall establish the Virginia Behavioral Health Loan Repayment Program.

Eligible practitioners include: psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social workers,
licensed professional counselors, child and adolescent psychiatrists, psychiatric physician assistants, psychiatric


http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/23.1-614/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-122.5:1/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/32.1-122.10/

pharmacists, and psychiatric nurse practitioners. The program shall include a tiered incentive system as follows: (i)
Tier I providers: child and adolescent psychiatrists, psychiatric nurse practitioners, and psychiatrists; and (ii) Tier
II providers: licensed clinical psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, and licensed professional counselors.

2. For each eligible year of service provided, the practitioner shall receive a year of applicable loan repayment
award in return. Loan repayment checks will be submitted at the end of each year of service. Payments will be made
directly to the lender. Practitioners must agree to a minimum of two years of practice for the behavioral health
provider with the ability for two one-year renewals. The program shall require preference be given to applicants
choosing to practice in underserved areas which must be a federally designated mental Health Professional
Shortage Area or Medically Underserved Area within the Commonwealth. Practitioners are required to practice at
Community Services Boards, behavioral health authorities, state mental health facilities, free clinics, federally
qualified health centers and other similar health safety net organizations in order to be eligible for the program.
The award amount is up to 25 percent of student loan debt, not to exceed $30,000 per year for Tier I professionals
or $20,000 per year for Tier II professionals. In no instance shall the loan repayment exceed the total student loan
debt.

3. No match contribution from practice sites or the community is required. Loan repayment awards shall be tax
exempt.

4. The program shall have an Advisory Board, composed of representatives from stakeholder organizations and
community members as determined by the department. The Advisory Board will meet annually and provide
guidance regarding effective outreach and feedback on both programmatic processes and impact. The department
shall provide an annual report to the Advisory Board on successes, challenges and opportunities with the program.

5. The Board of Health shall develop regulations consistent with this language in order for the department to
administer the program.

D. 1. Out of this appropriation, $500;000 the first year and $500,000 the second year from the general fund shall be
provided to the Virginia Department of Health to establish a Nursing Preceptor Incentive Program. The
department shall collaborate with the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia, the Virginia Nurses
Association, the Virginia Healthcare and Hospital Association, and other relevant stakeholders on an advanced
practice nursing student preceptor grant program. The program shall offer a $1,000 incentive for any Virginia
licensed physician, physician's assistant, or advanced practice registered nurse (APRN) who, in conjunction with a
licensed and accredited Virginia public or private not-for-profit school of nursing, provides a clinical education
rotation of 250 hours, which is certified as having been completed by the school. The amount of the incentive may
be adjusted based on the actual number of hours completed during the clinical education rotation. The program
shall seek to reduce the shortage of APRN clinical education opportunities and establish new preceptor rotations
for advanced practice nursing students, especially in high demand fields such as psychiatry. The department shall
report to the Chairs of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance and Appropriations Committees by November
1, 208202021, on the progress of establishing the Nursing Preceptor Incentive Program.

2. The Virginia Health Workforce Development Authority shall develop the process for the consideration of
requests for funding from the Nursing Preceptor Incentive Program.

E. Out of this appropriation, $35,000 the second year from the general fund is provided for the Nurse Loan
Repayment Program to provide loan repayments for certified nurse aides. The total loan repayment allowed per
certified nurse aide is limited to no more than $1,000.
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