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ltem 3-5.15

§ 3-5.15 PROVIDER COVERAGE ASSESSMENT

A= The Department of Medieal Assistanee Services (PMAS) is authorized to levy an assessment upon private acute
shall pay a coverage assessment beginning on or after October 1; 2018 For the purpeses of this eoverage
aeeess hospitals:

B-1- The eoverage assessment shall be used only to eover the non-federal share of the full cost for expanded
Medicaid eoverage for newdy eligible individuals purstant te 42 U-5:G: § 1396dp{2010] of the Patient Proteetion
and Affordable Gare Aet; including the administrative eosts of eollecting the coverage assessment; and

below-

assessment: By May 1 of each year; DMAS shall report the estimated assessment payments by hospital and all
assessment percentage ealewlations for the upcoming fisecal year to the Director; Department of Planning and
Budget and Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Einance Committees:

4: The “full eost of expanded Medicaid coverage” shall equal the amount estimated in the official Medicaid foreeast
due by November 1 of each year as required by paragraph AL of ltem 307 of this Aet: This Act estimates the non-
federal share of the cost of coverage for EY 2019 as $80,;323;953 and EY 2020 as $226;123;826-

Information (VHD “Hospital Detail Report” as of December 15 of each year: In the first year; net patient service
revenue shall be prorated by the portion of the year subjeet to the tax:

6: Any estimated exeess or shortfall of revenue from the previous year shall be deducted from or added to the Zfull
cost of expanded Medicaid ecoverage” for the next year prior to the caleulation of the “coverage assessment
e

7. BMAS shall be responsible for eollecting the eoverage assessment: Hospitals subject to the coverage assessment



shall make quarterly payments to the departiment equal to 25 percent of the annual “coverage assessment’ amount:
In the first year; quarterly amounts for the remainder of the state fiseal year shall equal one-third of the coverage
assessment: The payments are due not later than the first day of each quarter: In the first year; the first coverage
assessment payment shall be due on or after October 1; 2018- Hospitals that fail to make the coverage assessment
payments within 30 days of the due date shall incur a five percent penalty: Any unpaid coverage assessment or
penalty will be considered a debt to the Commeonwealth and DMAS is autherized to recover it as such:

8. BMAS shall submit a report due September 1 of each year to the Director; Department of Planning and Budget
recently completed fiseal year; the revenue eollected from the coverage assessment; expenditures for purpeses
autheorized by this Item; and the year-end coverage assessment balance in the Health Gare Goverage Assessment
Fund:

9. All revenue from the coverage assessment ineluding penalties shall be depeosited inte the Health Gare Goverage
purpese than to cover the non-federal share of the full cost of enhanced Mediecaid coverage for newly eligible
individuals; purstant to 42 U-5:S: § 1396d9(H {20107 of the Patient Proteetion and Affordable Gare Aet; including

neecessary:

A. The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) is authorized to levy an assessment upon private acute
care hospitals operating in Virginia in accordance with this Item. Private acute care hospitals operating in Virginia
shall pay a coverage assessment beginning on or after October 1, 2018. For the purposes of this coverage
assessment, the definition of private acute care hospitals shall exclude public hospitals, freestanding psychiatric
and rehabilitation hospitals, children's hospitals, long stay hospitals, long-term acute care hospitals and critical
access hospitals.

B.1. The coverage assessment shall be used only to cover the non-federal share of the “full cost of expanded
Medicaid coverage” for newly eligible individuals pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(y)(1)[2010] of the Patient
Protection and Affordable Care Act, including the administrative costs of collecting the coverage assessment and
implementing and operating the coverage for newly eligible adults.

2.a. The “full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage” shall include: 1) any and all Medicaid expenditures related to
individuals eligible for Medicaid pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1396d(y)(1)[2010] of the Patient Protection and Affordable
Care Act, including any federal actions or repayments; and, 2) all administrative costs associated with providing
coverage and collecting the coverage assessment.

b. The “full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage” shall be updated: 1) on November 1 of each year based on the
official Medicaid forecast and latest administrative cost estimates developed by DMAS; 2) no more than 30 days
after the enactment of this Act to reflect policy changes adopted by the latest session of the General Assembly; and
3) on March 1 of any year in which DMAS estimates that the most recent non-federal share of the “full cost of
expanded Medicaid coverage” times 1.08 will be insufficient to pay all expenses in 2.a. for that year.

c. This Act estimates the non-federal share of the cost of Medicaid expansion to be $86,103,345 the first year and
$293,192,716 the second year. However, these amounts shall not be construed as a limitation on collections or
override the provisions of this item that allow for periodic updates of the full cost of coverage.



C. 1. The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) shall calculate each hospital's “coverage assessment
amount" by multiplying the “coverage assessment percentage " times “net patient service revenue" as defined
below.

2. The “coverage assessment percentage " shall be calculated as (i) 1.08 times the non-federal share of the “full cost
of expanded Medicaid coverage" divided by (ii) the total “net patient service revenue" for hospitals subject to the
assessment.

3. Each hospital's “net patient service revenue” equals the amount reported in the most recent Virginia Health
Information (VHI) “Hospital Detail Report.” In FY 2019, net patient service revenue shall be prorated by the
portion of the year subject to the tax. Hospitals shall certify that the net patient service revenue is hospital revenue
and this amount shall be the assessment basis for the following fiscal year.

D.1. DMAS shall, at a minimum, update the “coverage assessment amount” to be effective on January 1, of each
year. DMAS is further authorized to update the “coverage assessment amount” on a quarterly basis to ensure
amounts are sufficient to cover the full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage based on the latest estimate. Hospitals
shall be given no less than 30 days' notice prior to a change in its coverage assessment amount and be provided
with associated calculations. Prior to any change to the coverage assessment amount, DMAS shall perform and
incorporate a reconciliation of the Health Care Coverage Assessment Fund. Any estimated excess or shortfall of
revenue since the previous reconciliation shall be deducted from or added to the “full cost of expanded Medicaid
coverage" for the updated coverage assessment amount.

2. DMAS shall be responsible for collecting the coverage assessment amount. Hospitals subject to the coverage
assessment shall make quarterly payments due no later than July 1, October 1, January 1 and April 1 of each state
fiscal year. In FY 2019, quarterly amounts for the remainder of the state fiscal year shall equal one-third of the
coverage assessment. In the first year, the first coverage assessment payment shall be due on or after October 1,
2018.

3. Hospitals that fail to make the coverage assessment payments within 30 days of the due date shall incur a five
percent penalty that shall be deposited in the Virginia Health Care Fund. Any unpaid coverage assessment or
penalty will be considered a debt to the Commonwealth and DMAS is authorized to recover it as such.

E. DMAS shall submit a report due September 1 of each year to the Director, Department of Planning and Budget
and Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees. The report shall include, for the most
recently completed fiscal year, the revenue collected from the coverage assessment, expenditures for purposes
authorized by this Item, and the year-end coverage assessment balance in the Health Care Coverage Assessment
Fund.

F. All revenue from the coverage assessment excluding penalties, shall be deposited into the Health Care Coverage
Assessment Fund. Proceeds from the coverage assessment, excluding penalties, shall not be used for any other
purpose than to cover the non-federal share of the full cost of expanded Medicaid coverage.

G. Any provision of this Item is contingent upon approval by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services if
necessary.
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