
 
 

 
2016 Session
  Budget Bill - HB29 (Chapter 732) 
Bill Order » Office of Transportation » Item 433

Department of Motor Vehicles

 
Authority: Title 46.2, Chapters 1, 2, 3, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, 16, and 17; §§ 18.2-266 through 18.2-272; Title 58.1,
Chapters 21 and 24, Code of Virginia. Title 33, Chapter 4, United States Code. 
 
A. The Commissioner, Department of Motor Vehicles, is authorized to establish, where feasible and cost efficient,
contracts with private/public partnerships with commercial operations, to provide for simplification and
streamlining of service to citizens through electronic means. Provided, however, that such commercial operations
shall not be entitled to compensation as established under § 46.2-205, Code of Virginia, but rather at rates limited
to those established by the commissioner. 
 
B. The Department of Motor Vehicles shall work to increase the use of alternative service delivery methods. As part
of its effort to shift customers to internet usage where applicable, the department shall not charge its customers
for the use of credit cards for internet or other types of transactions. 
 
C. In order to provide citizens of the Commonwealth greater access to the Department of Motor Vehicles, the
agency is authorized to enter into an agreement with any local constitutional officer or combination of officers to
act as a license agent for the department, with the consent of the chief administrative officer of the constitutional
officer's county or city, and to negotiate a separate compensation schedule for such office other than the schedule
set out in § 46.2-205, Code of Virginia. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any compensation due to a
constitutional officer serving as a license agent shall be remitted by the department to the officer's county or city
on a monthly basis, and not less than 80 percent of the sums so remitted shall be appropriated by such county or
city to the office of the constitutional officer to compensate such officer for the additional work involved with
processing transactions for the department. Funds appropriated to the constitutional office for such work shall not
be used to supplant existing local funding for such office, nor to reduce the local share of the Compensation Board-
approved budget for such office below the level established pursuant to general law. 
 
D. The base compensation for DMV Select Agents shall be set at 4.5 percent of gross collections for the first
$500,000 and 5.0 percent of all gross collections in excess of $500,000 made by the entity during each fiscal year on
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Item 433 First Year - FY2015 Second Year - FY2016

Ground Transportation Regulation (60100) $166,482,775 $171,109,999

Customer Service Centers Operations (60101) $113,794,989 $117,592,443

Ground Transportation Regulation and Enforcement (60103) $39,974,662 $40,486,684

Motor Carrier Regulation Services (60105) $12,713,124 $13,030,872

Fund Sources:

Commonwealth Transportation $158,386,175 $163,313,399

Trust and Agency $6,096,600 $5,796,600

Federal Trust $2,000,000 $2,000,000
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such taxes and fees in place as a matter of law . The commissioner shall supply the agents with all necessary agency
forms to provide services to the public, and shall cause to be paid all freight and postage, but shall not be
responsible for any extra clerk hire or other business-related expenses or business equipment expenses occasioned
by their duties. 
 
E. Out of the amounts identified in this Item, $299,991 the first year and $299,991 the second year from the
Commonwealth Transportation Fund shall be paid to the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Commission. 
 
F.1. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the department shall assess a minimum fee of $10 for all
replacement and supplemental titles. The revenue generated from this fee shall be set aside to meet the expenses
of the department. 
 
2. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the department shall assess a $10 late fee on all registration
renewal transactions that occur after the expiration date. The late fee shall not apply to those exceptions granted
under § 46.2-221.4, Code of Virginia. In assessing the late renewal fee the department shall provide a ten day grace
period for transactions conducted by mail to allow for administrative processing. This grace period shall not apply
to registration renewals for vehicles registered under the International Registration Plan. The revenue generated
from this fee shall be set aside to meet the expenses of the department. 
 
3. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the department shall establish a $20 minimum fee for original
driver's licenses and replacements. The revenue generated from this fee shall be set aside to meet the expenses of
the department. 
 
G. The Department of Motor Vehicles is hereby granted approval to renew or extend existing capital leases due to
expire during the current biennium for existing customer service centers. 
 
H. The Department of Motor Vehicles is hereby appropriated revenues from the additional sales tax on fuel in
certain transportation districts to recover the direct cost of administration incurred by the department in
implementing and collecting this tax as provided by § 58.1-2295, Code of Virginia. 
 
I. The Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles, in consultation with the Commissioner of Highways,
shall take such steps as may be necessary to expand access to the E-ZPass program through its customer service
channels using such locations and methods as are practicable. 
 
J. The Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles, in consultation with the Commissioner of Highways,
shall report on the feasibility and advisability of entering into reciprocal agreements with other states for the
purpose of toll enforcement. Such report shall be made to the Chairmen of the House Appropriations, Senate
Finance, and House and Senate Transportation Committees no later than December 1, 2014. 
 
K. Included in the amounts for this item is $650,000 in the first year and $350,000 in the second year to support the
start-up and on-going costs associated with the regulation of Transportation Network Companies in Virginia
pursuant to the provisions of House Bill 1662, 2015 Session of the General Assembly. 
 
L. Notwithstanding the provisions of Chapter 21 of Title 46.2, the Commissioner of the Department of Motor
Vehicles shall be authorized to grant temporary authority to a motor carrier to transport property for
compensation on an intrastate basis utilizing a digital platform that connects persons seeking a property
transportation service with persons authorized by the motor carrier to transport property. Such temporary
authority shall be subject to such reasonable conditions as the Commissioner may impose, and shall be valid only
for passenger cars and pickup or panel trucks, as those terms are defined in § 46.2-100, which vehicles shall not be
required to be issued for-hire license plates under § 46.2-711. Such temporary authority, unless suspended or
revoked, shall be valid for such time as the Department shall specify, but such authority shall not extend beyond
130 days following the adjournment of the next regular session of the General Assembly and shall create no
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presumption that corresponding permanent authority will be granted thereafter. 
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