VIRGINIA STATE BUDGET

2015 Session

Budget Bill - HB1400 (Introduced)

Bill Order » Office of Finance » Item 270
Department of Taxation

Item 270 First Year - FY2015 Second Year - FY2016

Revenue Administration Services (73200) $57,860,734 $57:851;820

$58,138,820

Tax Return Processing (73214) $7,192,900 $7:192;900

$7,149,900

Customer Services (73217) $8,292,179 $8;292:179

$5,970,829

Compliance Audit (73218) $21,387,285 $21,378,371

Compliance Collections (73219) $20,988,370 $26;988;376

$21,169,620

Legal and Technical Services (73222) $0 $2,470,100
Fund Sources:

General $45,402,787 $45,393,873

$45,350,873

Special $11,737,191 $—1—177%:771-9-1-

$12,067,191

Commonwealth Transportation $250,000 $250,000

Dedicated Special Revenue $470,756 $470,756

Authority: Title 3.2; Title 58.1, Code of Virginia.

A. Pursuant to § 58.1-1803, Code of Virginia, the Tax Commissioner is hereby authorized to contract with private
collection agencies for the collection of delinquent accounts. The State Comptroller is hereby authorized to deposit
collections from such agencies into the Contract Collector Fund (§ 58.1-1803, Code of Virginia). Revenue in the
Contract Collector Fund may be used to pay private collection agencies/attorneys and perform oversight of their
operations, upgrade audit and collection systems and data interfaces, and retain experts to perform analysis of
receivables and collection techniques. Any balance in the fund remaining after such payment shall be deposited

into the appropriate general, nongeneral, or local fund no later than June 30 of each year.

B.1. The Department of Taxation is authorized to retain, as special revenue, its reasonable share of any court fines

and fees to reimburse the department for any ongoing operational collection expenses.

2. Any form of state debt assigned to the Department of Taxation for collection may be collected by the department
in the same manner and means as state taxes may be collected pursuant to Title 58.1, Chapter 18, Code of Virginia.

C. The Department of Taxation is authorized to make tax incentive payments to small tobacco product

manufacturers who do not participate in the 1998 Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement, pursuant to Chapter 901

of the 2005 Acts of Assembly.


http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-1803/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-1803/

D. The Department of Taxation is hereby appropriated revenues from the Communications Sales and Use Tax Trust
Fund to recover the direct cost of administration incurred by the department in implementing and collecting this
tax as provided by § 58.1-662, Code of Virginia.

E. The Tax Commissioner shall have the authority to waive penalties and grant extensions of time to file a return or
pay a tax, or both, to any class of taxpayers when the Tax Commissioner in his discretion finds that the normal due
date has, or would, cause undue hardship to taxpayers who were, or would be, unable to use electronic means to
file a return or pay a tax because of a power or systems failure that causes the department's electronic filing or
payment systems to be nonfunctional for all or a portion of a day on or about the due date for a return or payment.

F. The Department of Taxation is hereby appropriated Land Conservation Incentive Act fees imposed under § 58.1-
513 C. 2., Code of Virginia, on the transferring of the value of the donated interest. The Code of Virginia specifies
such fees will be used by the Departments of Taxation and Conservation and Recreation to recover the direct cost
of administration incurred in implementing the Virginia Land Conservation Act.

G. In the event that the United States Congress adopts legislation allowing local governments, with the assistance
of the Commonwealth, to collect delinquent local taxes using offsets from federal income taxes, the Department of
Accounts shall provide a treasury loan to the Department of Taxation to finance the costs of modifying the
agency's computer systems to implement this federal debt setoff program. This treasury loan shall be repaid from
the proceeds collected from the offsets of federal income taxes collected on behalf of localities by the Department
of Taxation.

H. 1. All revenue received by the Commonwealth pursuant to the provisions of § 58.1-645 et seq., Code of Virginia,
shall be paid into the state treasury and deposited to the Virginia Communications Sales and Use Tax Fund and
shall be distributed pursuant to § 58.1-662, Code of Virginia, and items 261 and 282 of this act. For the purposes of
the Comptroller's preliminary and final annual reports required by § 2.2-813, Code of Virginia, however, all
deposits to and disbursements from the Fund shall be accounted for as part of the general fund of the state
treasury.

2. It is the intent of the General Assembly that all such revenues be distributed to counties, cities, and towns, the
Department for the Deaf and Hard-of-Hearing, and for the costs of administering the Virginia Communications
Sales and Use Tax.

I. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 58.1-478, Code of Virginia, effective July 1, 2011, every employer whose
average monthly liability can reasonably be expected to be $1,000 or more and the aggregate amount required to be
withheld by any employer exceeds $500 shall file the annual report required by § 58.1-478, Code of Virginia, and all
forms required by § 58.1-472, Code of Virginia, using an electronic medium using a format prescribed by the Tax
Commissioner. Waivers shall be granted only if the Tax Commissioner finds that this requirement creates an
unreasonable burden on the employer. All requests for waiver shall be submitted to the Tax Commissioner in
writing.

J. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 58.1-214, Code of Virginia, the department shall not be required to mail its
forms and instructions unless requested by a taxpayer or his representative.

K.1. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 58.1-609.12, Code of Virginia, no report on the fiscal, economic and policy
impact of the miscellaneous Retail Sales and Use Tax exemptions under § 58.1-609.10, Code of Virginia shall be
required after the completion of the final report in the first five-year cycle of the study, due December 1, 2011. The
Department of Taxation shall satisfy the requirement of § 58.1-609.12 that it study and report on the annual fiscal
impact of the Retail Sales and Use Tax exemptions for nonprofit entities provided for in § 58.1-609.11, Code of
Virginia, by publishing such fiscal impact on its website.

2. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 58.1-202, Code of Virginia, no report detailing the total amount of corporate


http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-662/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-513/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-513/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-645/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-662/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-813/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-478/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-478/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-472/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-214/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-609.12/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-609.10/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-609.12/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-609.11/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/58.1-202/

income tax relief provided in Virginia shall be required after the completion of such report due on October 1, 2013.
The Department of Taxation shall satisfy the requirement of § 58.1-202 that it issue an annual report detailing the
total amount of corporate income tax relief provided in Virginia by publishing its Annual Report on its website.

L. 1. Notwithstanding any provision of the Code of Virginia or this act to the contrary,

a. Effective January 1, 2013, all corporations are required to file estimated tax payments and their annual income
tax return and final payment using an electronic medium in a format prescribed by the Tax Commissioner

b. Effective July 1, 2013, every employer shall file the annual report required by § 58.1-478 and all forms required
by & 58.1-472, Code of Virginia, using an electronic medium in a format prescribed by the Tax Commissioner.

c. Effective July 1, 2014, every employer shall file the annual report required by § 58.1-478 and-all-formsrequired
by-§-58.1-472;-Coede-of Virginia, not later than January 31 of the calendar year succeeding the calendar year in
which wages were withheld from employees.

d. Effective January 1, 2015, for taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2014, every pass-through entity
shall file the annual return required by § 58.1-392, Code of Virginia, and make related payments using an
electronic medium in a format prescribed by the Tax Commissioner.

2.a. The Tax Commissioner shall have the authority to waive the requirement to file or pay by electronic means.
Waivers shall be granted only if the Tax Commissioner finds that this requirement creates an unreasonable burden
on the person required to use an electronic medium. All requests for waiver shall be submitted to the Tax
Commissioner in writing.

b. The Tax Commissioner shall have the authority to waive the requirement to file or pay by January 31. Waivers
shall be granted only if the Tax Commissioner finds that this requirement creates an unreasonable burden on the
person required to file or pay by January 31. All requests for waiver shall be submitted to the Tax Commissioner in
writing.

M.1. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, Retail Sales and Use Tax returns and payments shall be made
using an electronic medium prescribed by the Tax Commissioner beginning with the June 2012 return, due July
2012, for monthly filers and, for less frequent filers, with the first return they are required to file after July 1, 2013.

2. The Tax Commissioner shall have the authority to waive the requirement to file by electronic means upon a
determination that the requirement would cause an undue hardship. All requests for waiver shall be transmitted to
the Tax Commissioner in writing.

N. The Department of Taxation is hereby appropriated revenues from the Virginia Motor Vehicle Rental Tax to
recover the direct cost of administration incurred by the department in implementing and collecting this tax as
provided by § 58.1-1741, Code of Virginia.

O. The Virginia Department of Taxation shall develop a return for a pass-through entity required by § 58.1-392,
Code of Virginia, to file using an electronic medium in a format prescribed by the Tax Commissioner before, but no
later than, January 1, 2015.

P. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 58.1-490 et seq., Code of Virginia,

1. Effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, a taxpayer shall be permitted to file a
declaration of estimated tax with the Department of Taxation instead of with the commissioner of the revenue for
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county-oreity-inwhich-all orpartofhis-income-was-derived and notwithstanding the provisions of § 58.1-306,

Code of Virginia, the department may so advise taxpayers.

2. Effective January 1, 2015, every eommissioner-oftherevenue with-whem treasurer who receives an estimated
income tax return, declaration or voucher isfited pursuant to § 584493 58.1-495 of the Code of Virginia shall
transmit such return, declaration or voucher to the Department of Taxation using an electronic medium in a
format prescribed by the Tax Commissioner.

Q. Notwithstanding any provision of the Code of Virginia or this act to the contrary, the Department of Taxation is
authorized to provide Form 1099 in an electronic format to taxpayers. The Tax Commissioner shall ensure that
taxpayers may elect to receive the electronic version of the form.

R. The Department of Taxation is hereby appropriated revenues from the E-911 Wireless Tax to recover the direct
cost of administration incurred by the department in implementing and collecting this tax as provided by § 56-
484.17:1, Code of Virginia.

S. The Department of Taxation is hereby appropriated revenues from the assessment for expenses pursuant to §§
38.2-400 and 38.2-403, Code of Virginia, to recover any costs related to the Insurance Premiums License Tax that
are incurred by the Department of Taxation, as provided in § 58.1-2533, Code of Virginia.

T. The Department of Taxation is authorized to charge fees of up to twenty percent of revenues generated pursuant
to debt collection initiatives associated with the U.S. Treasury Offset Program to pay the administrative costs of
supporting such initiatives. These fees are over and above any fees charged by outside collections contractors
and/or enhanced collection revenues deposited to the Virginia Technology Infrastructure Fund pursuant to Item
424.B.1 of this act.

U. Effective July 1, 2015, the Department of Taxation is authorized to charge an administrative fee of $12 for each
roll of cigarette revenue stamps. Such revenues shall be deposited into the Virginia Health Care Fund established
under § 52.1-366.

V.1. Notwithstanding any other provision of the Code of Virginia or this act to the contrary, effective July 1, 2015,
the Department of Taxation is hereby authorized to charge a fee of $5.00 per copy of a tax return requested by a
taxpayer or a representative thereof.

2. The Tax Commissioner shall have the authority to waive such fee. Waivers shall be granted only if the Tax
Commissioner finds that this requirement creates an unreasonable burden on the person requesting such copies.
All requests for waiver shall be submitted to the Tax Commissioner in writing.

W. Notwithstanding any other provision of the Code of Virginia or this act to the contrary, effective January 1,
2016, the Department of Taxation shall not provide to the local commissioners of the revenue or any other local
officials copies of federal tax forms or schedules, including but not limited to, federal Schedules C (1040), C-EZ
(1040), D (1040), E (1040), or F (1040), or federal Forms 4562 or 2106, or copies of Virginia Schedule 500FED, unless
such schedules or forms are attached to a Virginia income tax return and submitted to the department in an
electronic format by the taxpayer.
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