VIRGINIA STATE BUDGET

2013 Session

Budget Bill - HB1500 (Chapter 806)

Bill Order » Office of Health and Human Resources » Item 296 Department of Health

Item 296	First Year - FY2013	Second Year - FY2014
Community Health Services (44000)	\$231,852,833 \$232,202,833	\$229,955,064 \$231,055,332
Local Dental Services (44002)	\$7,036,703	\$5,372,397 \$7,036,703
Restaurant and Food Safety, Well and Septic Permitting and other Environmental Health Services (44004)	\$34,502,864	\$34,502,864
Local Family Planning Services (44005)	\$23,756,626	\$23,756,626
Support for Local Management, Business, and Facilities (44009)	\$57,328,917 \$57,678,917	\$57,328,917 \$57,482,516
Local Maternal and Child Health Services (44010)	\$42,299,966	\$42,299,966 \$41,582,329
Local Immunization Services (44013)	\$10,986,239	\$10,986,239
Local Communicable Disease Investigation, Treatment, and Control (44014)	\$17,644,195	\$17,644,195
Local Personal Care Services (44015)	\$4,139,638	\$4,139,638
Local Chronic Disease and Prevention Control (44016)	\$10,540,345	\$10,306,882
Local Nutrition Services (44018)	\$23,617,340	\$23,617,340
Fund Sources:		
General	\$94,327,893 \$94,677,893	\$93,126,486 \$93,474,358
Special	\$98,514,894	\$97,818,532 <i>\$98,570,928</i>
Dedicated Special Revenue	\$2,472,715	\$2,472,715
Federal Trust	\$36,537,331	\$36,537,331

Authority: §§ 32.1-11 through 32.1-12, 32.1-31, 32.1-163 through 32.1-176, 32.1-198 through 32.1-211, 32.1-246, and 35.1-1 through 35.1-26, Code of Virginia; Title V of the U.S. Social Security Act; and Title X of the U.S. Public Health Service Act.

- A. 1. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than \$425.00, for a construction permit for on-site sewage systems designed for less than 1,000 gallons per day, and alternative discharging systems not supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.
- 2. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than \$350.00, for the certification letter for less than 1,000 gallons per day not supported with

certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.

- 3. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than \$225.00, for a construction permit for an onsite sewage system designed for less than 1,000 gallons per day when the application is supported with certified work from a licensed onsite soil evaluator.
- 4. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than \$320.00, for the certification letter for less than 1,000 gallons per day supported with certified work from an authorized onsite soil evaluator or a professional engineer working in consultation with an authorized onsite soil evaluator.
- 5. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than \$300.00, for a construction permit for a private well.
- 6. Notwithstanding § 32.1-163 through § 32.1-176, Code of Virginia, the State Health Commissioner shall charge a fee of no more than \$1,400.00, for a construction permit or certification letter designed for more than 1,000 gallons per day.
- 7. The State Health Commissioner shall appoint two manufacturers to the Advisory Committee on Sewage Handling and Disposal, representing one system installer and the Association of Onsite Soil Engineers.
- B. The State Health Commissioner is authorized to develop, in consultation with the regulated entities, a hotel, campground, and summer camp plan and specification review fee, not to exceed \$40.00, a restaurant plan and specification review fee, not to exceed \$40.00, an annual hotel, campground, and summer camp permit renewal fee, not to exceed \$40.00 to be collected from all establishments, except K-12 public schools, that are subject to inspection by the Department of Health pursuant to §§ 35.1-13, 35.1-14, 35.1-16, and 35.1-17, Code of Virginia. However, any such establishment that is subject to any health permit fee, application fee, inspection fee, risk assessment fee or similar fee imposed by any locality as of January 1, 2002, shall be subject to this annual permit renewal fee only to the extent that the Department of Health fee and the locally imposed fee, when combined, do not exceed the fee amount listed in this paragraph. This fee structure shall be subject to the approval of the Secretary of Health and Human Resources.
- C. Pursuant to the Department of Health's Policy Implementation Manual (#07-01), individuals who participate in a local festival, fair, or other community event where food is sold, shall be exempt from the annual temporary food establishment permit fee of \$40.00 provided the event is held only one time each calendar year and the event takes place within the locality where the individual resides.
- D. Out of this appropriation, \$504,205 the first year and \$504,205 the second year from the general fund and \$362,947 the first year and \$362,947 the second year from nongeneral funds is provided to address the cost of leasing new or expanding existing local health department facilities. First priority shall be given to Prince William, Isle of Wight, Suffolk, and Roanoke City.
- E. The State Health Commissioner shall work with public and private dental providers to develop options for delivering dental services in underserved areas, including the use of public-private partnerships in the development and staffing of facilities, the use of dental hygiene and dental students to expand services and enhance learning experiences, and the availability of reimbursement mechanisms and other public and private resources to expand services.
- F. 1. The State Health Commissioner, in consultation with the Department of Medical Assistance Services, shall appoint an advisory committee comprised of relevant stakeholders including representatives from the Virginia Dental Association, the Virginia Dental Hygienists Association, the Virginia Oral Health Coalition, the Virginia

Health Care Foundation, the Virginia Association of Free Clinics, and the Virginia Community Healthcare Association to develop a comprehensive oral health plan. The plan shall evaluate the sustainability and efficiency of the current state-supported dental clinics operated by the department. The plan shall also include the feasibility of transitioning the department's current dental prevention/treatment model to a prevention-only model. The commissioner shall issue a final report from the advisory committee to the Chairmen of the Senate Finance and House Appropriations Committees no later than October 1, 2012.

- 2. Out of this appropriation \$967,944 from the general fund and \$696,362 from nongeneral funds the second year shall be used to provide access to dental services through local health departments. This level of funding shall continue to provide access to the current level of providers while the program is transitioning to a preventive model.
- 3. The Department of Health, in consultation with the Department of Medical Assistance Services, shall continue its work with the advisory committee to develop and implement a comprehensive targeted plan for transitioning the current dental model to a prevention model. The preventive dental model report shall consider at least the following: (i) the appropriate level of funding for a sustainable preventive model to begin July 1, 2014, while ensuring the safety net is secure and trained personnel are in place; (ii) the need to focus on those areas of the Commonwealth in the most need of these dental services, including those areas with higher risk factors including a concentration of diabetic and free lunch populations and a higher than average Medicaid-eligible population; and (iii) a review of dental program revenues and expenditures, including the development of evaluation metrics to assist in ensuring efficient and effective use of funding and services.
- 4. The State Health Commissioner shall convene the advisory committee meeting no later than April 30, 2013 and additional meetings as agreed on by the stakeholders, and issue a final report from the advisory committee to the Chairmen of the House Appropriations and Senate Finance Committees no later than October 1, 2013.
- G.1. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, regulation, or contractual agreement, the Department of Health shall pay the full cost of the state and local share of the one-time bonus payment payable on December 1, 2012 to classified state employees in the local health departments.
- 2. Out of this appropriation, \$350,000 general fund and \$488,561 nongeneral fund from the state share of district revenues in the first year shall be used to support the local share of this bonus.