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§ 3-5.01 ACCELERATED SALES AND USE TAX COLLECTIONS 
 
1. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 58.1-615, Code of Virginia, any dealer, as defined by § 58.1-612, Code of
Virginia, or direct payment permit holder pursuant to § 58.1-624, Code of Virginia, with taxable sales and
purchases of $1,300,000 or greater for the period July 1, 2001, to June 30, 2002, shall be required to make a
payment equal to 90 percent of the sales and use tax liability for June 2002 as the estimated amount of sales and
use tax liability for the month of June 2003. Such tax payments shall be made on or before the 30th day of June
2003, if payment is made by electronic funds transfer, as defined in § 58.1-202.1, Code of Virginia. If payment is
made by other than electronic funds transfer, such payment shall be made on or before the 25th day of June 2003.
Payments under this paragraph shall be made in accordance with procedures established by the Tax Commissioner
and shall be considered general fund revenue, except with respect to those revenues required to be distributed
under provisions of §§ 58.1-605 and 58.1-606, Code of Virginia. For purposes of this provision, taxable sales or
purchases shall be computed without regard to the number of certificates of registration held by the dealer. Every
dealer or direct payment permit holder shall be entitled to a credit for the payment under this paragraph on the
June 2003 return due July 20, 2003. The State Comptroller shall make no distribution of the collections in
accordance with § 58.1-638 until the provisions of subparagraph 4 are met. The provisions of this section shall not
apply to persons who are required to file only a Form ST-7, Consumer User Tax Return. 
 
2. Notwithstanding the provisions of § 58.1-615, Code of Virginia, any dealer as defined by § 58.1-612, Code of
Virginia, or direct payment permit holder pursuant to § 58.1-624, Code of Virginia, with taxable sales and
purchases of $1,300,000 or greater for the period July 1, 2002, to June 30, 2003, shall be required to make a
payment equal to 90 percent of the sales and use tax liability for June 2003 as the estimated amount of sales and
use tax liability for the month of June 2004. Such tax payments shall be made on or before the 30th day of June,
2004, if payment is made by electronic funds transfer, as defined in § 58.1-202.1, Code of Virginia. If payment is
made by other than electronic funds transfer, such payment shall be made on or before the 25th day of June, 2004.
Payments under this paragraph shall be made in accordance with procedures established by the Tax Commissioner
and shall be considered general fund revenue except with respect to those revenues required to be distributed
under provisions of §§ 58.1-605 and 58.1-606, Code of Virginia. For purposes of this provision, taxable sales or
purchases shall be computed without regard to the number of certificates of registration held by the dealer. Every
dealer or direct payment permit holder shall be entitled to a credit for the payment under this paragraph on the
June 2004 return due July 20, 2004. The State Comptroller shall make no distribution of the collections in
accordance with § 58.1-638 until the provisions of subparagraph 4 are met. The provisions of this section shall not
apply to persons who are required to file only a Form ST-7, Consumer User Tax Return. 
 
3. In lieu of the penalties provided in § 58.1-635, Code of Virginia, except with respect to fraudulent returns, failure
to make a timely payment or full payment on the sales and use tax liability as provided in paragraphs 1 and 2 above
shall subject the dealer or direct payment permit holder to a penalty of six percent of the amount of tax
underpayment that should have been properly paid to the Tax Commissioner. Interest will accrue as provided in § 
58.1-15, Code of Virginia. The payment required by paragraphs 1 and 2 above shall become delinquent on the first
day following the due date set forth in paragraphs 1 and 2 if not paid. 
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4. If the Governor determines by July 31 of each year that funds are available to transfer such collections in
accordance with § 58.1-638, he shall direct the State Comptroller to make such distribution. The Governor will
report his such determination to the Chairmen of the Senate Finance, House Finance and House Appropriations
Committees on in August 1 of each year. 
 
5. It is the intent of the General Assembly that the payment requirement contained herein be phased out beginning
in fiscal year 2006. The payment amount for June 2006 should be reduced to 85 percent of the sales and purchases
for the previous June and the payment amount should continue to be reduced until fully eliminated not later than
June 2012. Effective July 1, 2004, the distribution of the collections in accordance with § 58.1-638, Code of Virginia,
shall no longer be governed by paragraph 2. 
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